First Graphic Novel Award at Thought Bubble 2023 - Table Joy!



We had such a great time. A chance to show-case the longlisted authors and announce the shortlist, with a little help from our friends.

Top: Alex Taylor, 2023 winner, with James Spackman, Chloe Green, Zara Slattery





2024 will be a great chance to showcase work-in-progress by the shortlist and encourage creators to start preparing for next years' entry.

Left: Khadija Osman and Corinne Pearlman, right: Eszter Simavari, and Gabi Putnoki











Over the years, the
First Graphic Novel
Award has built a
community, firstly with
its founders, Myriad, and
now with new partners
Cartoon Museum and
SelfMadeHero.
In 2024-5, we hope to
further the opportunities
for publishing the
shortlisted entrants.

Top: left, the stand attracted an excellent footfall; right, a visit by inaugural winner Gareth Brookes; middle:Jenny Robins, 2018 winner, Mereida Fajardo, 2023 shortlist, Zara Slattery, 2018 shortlist; below, Khadija Osman, marketing lead at the Cartoon Museum, chats to table visitors.